Skip to content

Devilish Impressions—Diabolicanos – Act III: Armageddon (2007)

Devilish Impressions—Diabolicanos - Act III: Armageddon (2007)

Devilish Impressions—Diabolicanos – Act III: Armageddon (2007)


Recorded during May–June 2007 at Studio X, Olsztyn, Poland. Engineered by Szymon Czech. Mixed in June–July 2007 by Szymon Czech, Quazarre and Turquoissa. Mastered in July 2007 by Andy Classen at Stage One Studio, Borgentreich, Germany.

WebsiteEncyclopaedia Metallum | Twitter | FacebookYouTube


  • Quazarre—Vocals, guitars
  • Armers—Guitars
  • Starash—Bass
  • Turqouissa—Keyboards
  • Icanraz—Drums


  1. T.H.O.R.N.S.
  2. Rex inferni
  3. The word was made flesh turned into chaos again
  4. I am the son of God
  5. Tales of Babylon’s whore
  6. Diabolicanos
  7. Natas ro dog on si ereht (of plagues and blasphemy)
  8. Har-magedon
  9. Mass for the dead


Diabolicanos – Act III: Armageddon is Poland’s Devilish Impressions’ second full-length album, perhaps they regard their demo as act one.

This album falls firmly between the genres of death metal and symphonic black metal. There are clear influences of both, at times sounding like a generic latter-day Napalm Death album on one hand and something from the likes of Dimmu Borgir or Behemoth on the other.

This is reflected in the lyrical content with a bias towards black metal, anti-Christian lyrics and song titles (“I am the son of God”, and the not so subtle, backwards-titled “There is no God or Satan” / “Natas ro dog on si ereht”).

Musically, the album is acceptable but there’s really nothing special that stands out. It’s all very on-genre (even though it spans at least two), and the musicianship, composition and production qualities are all top notch.

This is yet another album that I’ve listened through a number of times and by the end can’t remember a single melodic hook or riff. It’s like the metal equivalent of fast-food: it fills a gap but I wouldn’t necessarily sit down specifically to enjoy it. I imagine that seeing the band live might be where the music comes into its own and you can feel the power and beat pounding on your chest and vibrating through your body.


I will likely keep this album in my collection. It’s interesting enough, it’s not an unpleasant listen at least, but I can’t find myself getting particularly excited by it.

Review score: 70%


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: