Dub War—Pain (2007)

Dub War—Pain (1998)

Dub War—Pain (1998)


Recorded at Chapel Studios, South Thoresby, Lincolnshire. Mixed at Parr Street Studios, Liverpool. All tracks constructed by Dub War. Produced by Bryan New for 140dB.

Released on Earache Records, 1998 and 2007 (MOSH121CD).



  • Clive J ‘Benji’ Webbe—Vocals
  • Jeff Rose—Guitar
  • Richie Glover—Bass
  • Martin “Ginge” Ford—Drums


  1. Mental
  2. Nar say a ting
  3. Original murder (bonus track)
  4. Words of warning (bonus track)
  5. Strike it
  6. Respected
  7. Pain
  8. Nations
  9. Gorrit
  10. Spiritual warfare
  11. Fool’s gold (bonus track)
  12. Over now
  13. Psycho system
  14. Anadin (bonus track)
  15. Why? (bonus track)
  16. Mad zone (bonus track)


This review is about a week late because last weekend I was in London singing with the Alumni of the National Youth Choirs of Great Britain at Christ Church, Spitalfields, and I’ve not really caught up since. From the sublime to the ridiculous…

It doesn’t seem that long ago since I review Dub War — Wrong Side of Beautiful (1996) but it turns out to have been more than 18 months ago. I loved that album, so I approached this album with a certain degree of excitement and anticipation.

The opening track ‘Mental’ bubbles to a start with that familiar Dub War, reggae feel and bounces along happily from start to finish. It doesn’t quite set me on fire but it’s a decent enough song.

In fact this is quite a slow, laid-back album, as I guess you should expect from a reggae-infused album. It isn’t until track four (‘Word of warning’) before there’s a bit of pace.

‘Strike it’ (track five) has a great chorus that seamlessly leads into a bit of random scatting jazz and back out again. It’s inspired and I can’t help but smile listening to it.

Another stand-out track for me is ‘Spiritual warfare’ (track 10). I just like the way it chugs along, like a train through a reggae/rock countryside.

‘Fools gold’ has a weird, tripped out lounge feel which, for some reason, makes me think of ‘The Silver Hawaiian’ by Helmet. It sounds nothing like it but has a similar, silly vibe, perhaps. It’s one of my favourite tracks on the album for sure.

The album picks up pace towards the end. ‘Over now’ and ‘Psycho system’ are full-on rock-out tracks. ‘Anadin’, the only instrumental on the album, is a bass- and drums-heavy monolith of a track: one to remember if I ever need a soundtrack for a montage of a heavy-goods truck driving through the night.

The closing couple of tracks ‘Why?’ (both bonus tracks) return the album to its beginning with more jangly, rapping, reggae-inspired rock.

If I have one criticism about this album it’s probably that it’s a bit too long. This is the 2007 re-release of the original 1998 album which contains six bonus tracks, taking the album from ten to 16 tracks. That’s quite an increase, and I’m not sure the album benefits from it, to be honest. I wonder if this was Dub War’s original vision for the album, otherwise why would they inject these extra songs into the running order, rather than tagging them along at the end or on an additional bonus disc.


Something I’ve not done is create a separate version of this album using the original 1998 track listening, without the bonus tracks. I wonder if I would think more highly of that experience: something shorter and more focussed.

As it stands though, this is a good album. If a bit long.

Review score: 70%


Dub War — Wrong Side of Beautiful (1996)

Dub War — Wrong Side of Beautiful (1996)

Dub War — Wrong Side of Beautiful (1996)


Produced and engineered by Paul Schroeder. (Mostly) recorded at Rockfield Studios and mixed at Parr Street Studios. Released on Earache Records, 1996.


  • Benji Webbe (Vocals)
  • Jeff Rose (Guitar)
  • Richie Glover (Bass)
  • Martin “Ginge” Ford (Drums)


  1. Control
  2. Armchair Thriller
  3. Greedee
  4. Bassbat Bat
  5. One Chill
  6. Enemy Maker
  7. Million Dollar Love
  8. Silencer
  9. Cry Dignity
  10. Can’t Stop
  11. Prisoner
  12. Love Is
  13. Mission
  14. Universal Jam


I bumped into Kevin, a colleague of mine, the other day on my walk to work.

“I’ve discovered an amazing new genre of metal,” he said enthusiastically. “Reggae metal!”

“Skindred?” I asked.

“Yeah,” he said looking suddenly downcast. “How did you know?”

I expect that I must have come across Dub War at some point during the mid-1990s but they were never really on my radar until I saw singer Benji Webbe performing with his current band Skindred, supporting Soulfly at the Glasgow Garage in January 2006.

In my review of the gig I said that “the support band Skindred were surprisingly good […] and had us all bouncing to their unique brand of Ragga Punk Metal.” Surprising because I really don’t get reggae. But they were brilliant, and Benji was the perfect frontman who by the end of the gig had the crowd in the palm of his hand.

I went home and ordered their first album Babylon (2002), and that’s when I first made the connection between Skindred and Dub War. Until this project I had only two songs of theirs in my collection: the 1996 single “Enemy Maker” and its acoustic b-side “Peace Maker”.

Dub War were formed in Newport, south Wales in 1993 — the year the World Wide Web began to take off with the release of the Mosaic web browser; the year that I graduated from university. Nu metal was on the decline but Dub War took the best things from nu metal: particularly combining diverse music styles and made a sound that was quite uniquely theirs.

My copy of Wrong Side of Beautiful (1996) is actually a part of a 2-CD box set released in 2007 of Dub War’s two (and only) albums; the other being Pain (1995). Pendants may be interested to learn that there was a third album, released in 1998, but this was entirely of remixes. And a fourth album of demos, which you can read about on the Ask Earache blog.

I have to say, that having been playing this album all week (56 tracks played this week, according to Last.fm), I love this album.

It was the kind of album that had me reaching for my bass guitar and playing along. The bass riffs just bounce along, particularly on songs like “Armchair Thriller” and the jazz-sounding intro to “Bassballbat”, which has a really woody bass sound.

Some tracks have a feel of the American rock/funk/hip hop band N*E*R*D about them. There is something about The Prodigy in their attitude. There is something about Faith No More in their variety. The intro to “Enemy Maker” reminds me of The Police.

There are elements of reggae, ragga, metal, punk, rock, dub, soul, jazz… This is a band whose influences you can hear in their music, but their music doesn’t sound like just one of them; if anything, it sounds like them all at once.

But it works!


I will definitely be listening to this album again… and I’ve still got Pain (1995) to review some time soon.

Review score: 95%


Here’s the promo video for “Enemy Maker”…

…and the B-side, the acoustic version called “Peace Maker”.